Piano Forum

Topic: Bridging from Method Books - Please Help!!!  (Read 3758 times)

Offline sarahord

Bridging from Method Books - Please Help!!!
on: March 08, 2016, 01:25:17 AM
Hello!

I've been teaching for a few months and I have a very bored, very unmotivated student. He has finished Book 3B and started Book 4 in Faber and Faber's Piano Adventure's but he seems very disinterested in the pieces. I'm starting to transition him out of the books and into other pieces, such as Martha Muir and Dennis Alexander pieces.

I'm looking for suggestions that would be at his level and help push him, but not too much. He really enjoys fast pieces, especially pieces where the right hand plays a lot of runs while the left hand plays chords. If a piece is just a little too difficult for him, he won't practice it. I'm pretty stuck on what to do!

Please help!

Thanks!

Offline worov

• PS Silver Member
Re: Bridging from Method Books - Please Help!!!
Reply #1 on: May 18, 2016, 08:06:37 PM
Hi!

Before you read this post, bear in mind that english isn't my first language. I'm sure there are some mistakes of grammar and some words aren't well-chosen. I apologize for this. I do my best to improve my knowledge of this beautiful language.

So, we have a problem : The student loses interest in the mmusic. There may be several causes to this. In my experience, the main cause is usually that he doesn't enjoy the music he's been taught. I could be wrong though.

As always, problems can be solved, but we need some information about the student.