Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: 7 year guitarist switching to piano. Need advice!  (Read 1525 times)

Offline kassuhn

7 year guitarist switching to piano. Need advice!
on: March 22, 2016, 05:23:59 AM
Hey there!

I am a guitarist who is switching to piano because it suits my needs as a composer better. I have been playing music since I was in middle school (23 years old now) and anticipate i'll be a quick study on the piano. I was wondering what digital instruments you all would recommend. I want something that is going to last a long time. Something that I will not outgrow even when I become more advanced. I've read some good things on the Kawai ES8 and CE220, but wanted advice from actual pianists.

Thanks!  ;D

Offline shostglass

Re: 7 year guitarist switching to piano. Need advice!
Reply #1 on: March 22, 2016, 05:41:50 AM
Well since you've been playing guitar for 7 years. So I'm assuming you know many basic/intermediate chords and chords progressions so you should be set well for composing. Now for keyboards. A Roland digital piano is a pretty well choice to start with. It's durable and has weighted keys. And let's not forget it can play other instrument so if you want to composes pieces with multiple instraments.

Offline kassuhn

Reply #2 on: March 22, 2016, 05:46:22 AM
Great! What model would you recommend from Roland?

Offline shostglass

Reply #3 on: March 22, 2016, 05:54:47 AM
A dp-990f or f-120.

Offline reiyza

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: March 22, 2016, 08:47:42 AM
Shouldn't this be posted in the instruments section?