Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Trying to retrain hands...  (Read 1678 times)

Offline redheadrebby

Trying to retrain hands...
on: May 21, 2016, 04:46:40 PM
Hi,

I'll give some background/context first:
I've been playing piano for about 10 years now. The first teacher I had (2 years) really focussed on getting me to learn to read music, and we did no technique. With my second teacher (stayed with her for about 6.5 years), the main focus was on me enjoying the music, expanding my repertoire, and passing exams; I passed  grade 8 with her 2 years ago. Through all that time, my technique was neglected, and I played however I comfortably could.
However, when I moved to my current teacher, she said that technique is vital, and I would never play well without a good grounding. Around a year ago, I suffered from rsi in my left wrist, probably due to the poor technique and excessive tension.
Since then, I have really been trying to improve my technique and focus on relaxing, but this has proved difficult, as I'm trying to overwrite a lot of muscle memory.

I was hoping some people here would have some advice about how to make this process easier and how to stop tensing all down the arm?

Offline keypeg

• PS Silver Member
Re: Trying to retrain hands...
Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 07:08:48 PM
Read the whole thing.  Focusing on this part: