Piano Forum

Topic: Help  (Read 1473 times)

Offline bashiek

Help
on: August 01, 2016, 12:40:10 AM
Hello everyone. I am a beginner, self taught piano player. I wanted to ask if anyone has any technique for improving left hand piano control. I can play just fine with my right hand, but when I add my left one, I become as slow as snails. It takes a long time for me to be able to play a piece with both hands.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Offline kuska

Re: Help
Reply #1 on: August 01, 2016, 12:06:24 PM
Hi,

slow is OK, just don't try to play many bars at once. First of all, cut the whole song into smaller pieces, like two or four bars. Then practice it only with one hand at a time, slowly increasing tempo. Only then try to play it with both hands at once, also slowly increasing tempo. If you feel fine finally playing such a small chunk, move to another one.

What are you playing right now? There could be a case it's just out of your skills or you've got focus problems. Have you eliminated these possibilities?

Offline 109natsu

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 01, 2016, 04:43:11 PM
Hi bashiek,

I agree with what Kuska suggested you. Even though the way you should practice should differ by the piece that you are playing, you basically need to start slow, with hands separate, most of the times. Practice more left hand than your right hand, and have discipline on yourself. If you keep playing something the wrong way, then you are going to play it the wrong way. Practice makes permanent, not perfect. If you feel that the left hand is lacking in technical virtuosity, or coordination, then you need to practice your left hand more :)

Offline bashiek

Reply #3 on: August 08, 2016, 02:55:39 AM
Kuska-san,