Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Are you struggling with Sight Reading on the Piano?  (Read 4992 times)

Offline jason_sioco

Are you struggling with Sight Reading on the Piano?
on: August 20, 2016, 02:48:30 PM
https://www.sightreadingfactory.com/

I started playing piano at a very late age of 20. When I started piano, I was struggling with my sight-reading. I didn't have trouble reading single notes as I had experience playing saxophone in a school band since the age 14. I had trouble reading multiple notes at once. I went to several different piano teachers and I was always slow at sight reading.

One day, I discovered this website called Sight Reading Factory. The website contains unlimited amount of sight reading exercises on the piano, and the levels of difficulty vary. The exercises are printable. I would have to say the exercises are not musically tasteful, but that's not the point. The point of the exercises is to let you see all the variables and patterns of notes that one might possibly encounter on a real piano piece. I prefer sight reading factory than sight reading mastery. If you use sight reading mastery, you have to pay every month, whereas in sight reading factory, you only pay annually or once a year. I believe you have to pay $34 the entire year for Sight reading Factory. While you have to pay $20 a month for using sight reading mastery. Your choice.

If you're struggling with sight reading on the piano, I highly recommend this website called Sight Reading Factory!

Offline jason_sioco

Re: Are you struggling with Sight Reading on the Piano?
Reply #1 on: August 20, 2016, 03:05:34 PM