Piano Forum

Topic: Applying to grad school after many years of injury  (Read 1219 times)

Offline j24578

Applying to grad school after many years of injury
on: September 05, 2016, 06:34:42 PM
I was a serious pre-college student and decided not to study at a conservatory for college. The next year, I had to stop playing due to intense wrist pain. I wasn't able to play at all for about 10 years due to the pain. The cause of the pain was ultimately stress, tension, and weak upper body muscles. This period was agonizing physically and mentally. Through many years of PT and meditation, I'm now able to play again with no pain, although my hands do get tired after an hour or two practicing fast runs of notes. I'm 30 now.

My goal is to return to being a serious piano student. I'm studying with a teacher now and practice a couple hours a day. I also watch a lot of videos of piano masterclasses, attend recitals at my local conservatory, listen to piano music constantly, etc. In short, piano is the only thing I think about now. I'd like to be a full-time grad student in piano performance. My dream school is Juilliard. I'm aware it's unlikely I'd be admitted given my age and the level of competition.

That said, I was hoping to get advice about how to reach that level. There is literally nothing I won't do if it means increasing my chances. Any thoughts from this group would be very appreciated!

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: Applying to grad school after many years of injury
Reply #1 on: September 05, 2016, 07:28:00 PM
Being a mature student has advantages in grad school - you have life experience, and it is not all about marks and GPA.  You might be applying alongside academics that are coming directly from undergrad and have very little life experience on their CV.  Then again you could also be alongside other people in similar situations as yourself.