Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Piece to build self confidence after long break  (Read 2123 times)

Offline natanica

Piece to build self confidence after long break
on: October 17, 2016, 09:10:25 AM
I studied for quite some time, but had a long break due to building a career and family. I'm sure I'll never get back to the level I reached, but these last couple of months my fingers have actually started to do what I want them to do. Unfortunately I tend to only repeat those pieces I already know, and find it difficult to learn new ones. I read music really well, but I can't seem to find appropriate music for my level at this point, so I suffer from a substantial lack of self confidence.

I'm Norwegian, so I'm not familiar with the grading system, but I think I was an 8 maybe. At my final exam I played Brahms' Rhapsodie in g-minor, Rachmaninov Prelude in c sharp minor, Beethoven "Pathetique" sonata 3rd movement and Grieg "To Spring". I remember the feeling that so many pieces was within my reach, and now I struggle with one of the easier Chopin Nocturne (which of course is more than difficult enough). I love to play romantic music, both those "loud" ones but also those more emotional pieces. I would really appreciate suggestions on music that may seem within reach, so that I'll get the feeling of mastering something, preferably above the level of "Für Elise" (no offense - beautiful piece, but I played it a long time ago).

Thank you for reading :-)

Offline visitor

• PS Silver Member