Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Help please  (Read 2216 times)

Offline woodenfarts

Help please
on: November 17, 2016, 09:29:48 PM
Hello nice people , My mom started teaching me piano when i was 6 , I kept playing till i reached grade 7 and stopped because i was lazy and my mom gave up hope on me because i didnt want to , but she always saw me as a good player , but thats what all moms say.  I stopped for 5 or 6 years . then my mom passed away last year , i didnt want to lose the piano skills she taught me , i started practicing and  i learnt fur elise , moonlight sonata first movement , Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy by tchaikovsky and alla turka ."all these took me a  half a year to play them"
but i still  feel that im  bad and rusty  and behind, for example , i keep making mistakes and almost never play a piece 100% without hitting a key wrong
... so if anybody has any tips on how to start over, because i feel lost  , no one to guide me  

Offline vaniii

Re: Help please
Reply #1 on: November 17, 2016, 11:24:55 PM
Firstly, please find yourself a teacher.

Make sure they are suitable for your long term needs.

Offline keypeg

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 12:39:52 AM
Firstly, please find yourself a teacher.

Make sure they are suitable for your long term needs.
How would the OP know what "suitable for long term needs" is, or even to know what the "needs" are?  First you would have to guide the asker through some questions to find out more.

Offline vaniii

Reply #3 on: November 18, 2016, 01:38:12 AM
Please forgive my flippancy, but I was trying not to condescend a seemingly already delicate situation.