Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Looking for Advice: how to teach without sheet music?  (Read 1593 times)

Offline samlindholm

Looking for Advice: how to teach without sheet music?
on: November 18, 2016, 09:35:37 PM
Hello,

I'm a newer piano teacher with a student who is about 15 years old. She left her previous teacher because she did not like the teacher's emphasis on sheet music. She plays congregational worship style music most of the time and that's what she likes (like Chris Tomlin and Elevation worship). She can transpose, understands the basics of chord inversion, she knows how to find a melody and harmonize it by ear, etc. But because she does not want to learn sheet music pretty much at all (and I don't want to force her; I give her doses of it, but I don't require her to only read sheet music), I'm starting to run out of ideas on how to teach her improvisation in a format that would enhance the congregational worship music that she loves to play. Note that she has no desire to be a concert pianist or a performer; she's more of a hobbyist.

Does anyone have any ideas for exercises or concepts I could introduce to challenge and stretch her that aren't sheet-music heavy?

Thanks for your insight!

Offline mimifasol

Re: Looking for Advice: how to teach without sheet music?
Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 10:11:58 PM
Have you every used the Pattern Play books?

I've had several students who prefer to play by ear and I juts pull out the Pattern Play books when they seem to be in a rut. It adds new chord progressions and melodic tricks to their improvising toolbox!

Offline vaniii

Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 10:53:19 PM