Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Relaxed hands, and proper finger/hand muscle technique  (Read 5241 times)

Offline vishal733

Relaxed hands, and proper finger/hand muscle technique
on: November 25, 2016, 01:14:15 AM
I've been learning the piano for 2 years (mostly on my own, and under a teacher for 6 months).

I'm quite particular about developing a correct hand technique; relaxed hands, proper finger technique so as to not develop any stress, and pain.
A proper technique of course also helps in playing faster, and playing with more dynamics.
I understand that developing ease while playing can take some years to develop.

For this, I'd appreciate any inputs (no matter how trivial and/or elaborate) on developing a proper hand technique. Even external links are welcome. [including concepts like cupped hand position, whole hand movement, etc.. etc..]

I believe more in self-learning, rather than learning from a teacher. This is what works better for me. With some external inputs, I can try to figure out what works for me..

Here is a sample of how I play right now:

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member
Re: Relaxed hands, and proper finger/hand muscle technique
Reply #1 on: November 25, 2016, 05:09:59 AM
Is your teacher not assessing that? Or are you not taking lessons at the moment?