Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: When am I ready to start teaching beginning students?  (Read 2423 times)

Offline beethovenfan01

When am I ready to start teaching beginning students?
on: December 05, 2016, 03:34:46 AM
Hello!

I am a late high-school student. I've been playing for about five/six-ish years, and right now I'm playing early- to mid- advanced repertoire, with one or two ridiculously hard oddities (for instance, I'm attempting the Chopin Ballade No. 1 on my own time, just because I love the piece).

When would I be ready to start teaching beginning students? I love music, all music, I love sharing it with others, and I really want to teach people who have always wanted to play piano but have never learned.

Do I need a degree in piano pedagogy? I have experience teaching kids already, as a lifeguard/swim teacher. And what level does my own technique have to reach?

Please share any and all opinions you have on this subject.

Thanks!
Practicing:
Bach Chromatic Fantasie and Fugue
Beethoven Sonata Op. 10 No. 1
Shostakovich Preludes Op. 34
Scriabin Etude Op. 2 No. 1
Liszt Fantasie and Fugue on BACH

Offline preludetr

Re: When am I ready to start teaching beginning students?
Reply #1 on: December 05, 2016, 06:56:59 AM
There are people who effectively teach beginners and don't play at an advanced level themselves, just as you don't need to know calculus to teach arithmetic to kids. As long as you understand what you are trying to teach (that is, beginner material) and are able to communicate it effectively, you can teach.

Offline keypeg

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: December 05, 2016, 11:26:53 AM