Piano Forum logo
November 23, 2017, 07:26:23 AM *
   Forum Home   Help Search  

Marathon Men – Two Complete Beethoven Sonatas Projects to Achieve Completion

Daniel Barenboim is not the only one to have successfully had the complete Beethoven sonatas on his agenda lately. Read more >>

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A beginner student's first lesson  (Read 796 times)
spenstar
PS Silver Member

« on: March 01, 2017, 01:27:15 AM »

I'm a high school student who has been playing diligently for 10 years, so I started offering lessons for beginner and intermediate students. I arranged a lesson with a new student, but he is a 9 year old who has ever played. There's so much material to cover for beginners, Andy I'm not sure how much a kid could take in. So if anyone has any tips on the pinpoint of where to start or any tips for teaching children, that would be great!! Thank you Smiley
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
themeandvariation
PS Gold Member

« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 01:40:33 PM »

You are young. Giving piano lessons comes with a great responsibility.. The student trusts that You know what you are doing.  A lack of understanding of a proper progression and development of learning tools can create much trouble - and snowball as time goes on. 
You mention that you have played for 10 years. Have you had lessons Yourself for 10 years?  Or, how many years? 
If you Do have a teacher, it would be beneficial to schedule one or more lessons with them to discuss solely and In Particular how to proceed in your endeavor, and whether you are ready and responsible to do such.  If you are not willing, or circumstances not permitting, asking such a question here is Not enough to make a responsible decision in and of itself.

Are you planning on charging for this service?

4'33"
klavieronin
PS Silver Member

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2017, 12:16:45 PM »