Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Progress after two years of piano study  (Read 8465 times)

Offline fuzzy1

• PS Silver Member
Progress after two years of piano study
on: June 13, 2017, 08:12:36 PM
Hello Piano Street,

I'm new here, in fact it's my first time ever posting, so please bear with me if my post is not in the right form, or if my question is not a good one. I am a parent of a young piano student, and I myself don't play any instrument or have any musical background, so I may sound naïve. My son, age 9, has been studying piano seriously for 2 years now. We love his teacher and think she is wonderful for his growth, both technique and musicality. We have been told that my son is quite talented. The teacher does not follow a set curriculum (no specific beginner books), and does not have her students participate in any assessments or exams (she does have her students participate in regular recitals). So, naturally, I wonder if my son's progress is adequate. So my question is - where does one expect a child to be after 2 years of study? Is my son doing well, average, below average? That said, I do understand that everyone progresses at their own pace and there's no one path.