Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Questions about overuse injuries, eliminating tension, etc.  (Read 2272 times)

Offline ngensewityposta

• PS Silver Member
Hello,

I have some questions about overuse injuries, eliminating tension, etc. Feel free to skip the back story and symptoms and see the questions below, if you like.

BACK STORY:

I'm a 33-year-old jazz pianist and I've been having some problems with tension and repetitive strain in my right arm and hand. I used to have a reasonably good technique, but I haven't worked on technique for over ten years. These days, I usually perform and practise only a moderate amount, with a decent amount of rest time in between: I usually have a couple of gigs a week, and I don't practise at home much unless I need to learn some new music. I recently went through a period in which I was performing and practising a lot. By the end of this period, I was playing with a lot of tension--presumably to make up for poor technique and muscle overuse. I was experiencing considerable tension in my right forearm and wrist, and discomfort in my right shoulder and even the right side of my upper back. At the last gig I was doing during this period, I even noticed myself holding my breath while I was playing to try to ‘force’ the notes to come out the way I wanted them to, which I’m not sure I have ever noticed myself doing in the past. I've been trying to take it easy for the last couple of months--I'm ba