Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Adult Students: Anyone find that the more you play the less you know?  (Read 2017 times)

Offline bernadette60614

• PS Silver Member
When I was a teenager I thought I played the entirety of the Moonlight Sonata fantastically.

As a returning adult student, I find that two pages of Bach Invention after a month of work leave me feeling that it will never be quite "right".

Anyone else have similar feelings?

Thanks!

Offline ryoutak

• PS Silver Member
When I was a teenager I thought I played the entirety of the Moonlight Sonata fantastically.

As a returning adult student, I find that two pages of Bach Invention after a month of work leave me feeling that it will never be quite "right".

Thanks!

I read somewhere that as an adult we tend to be more critical of ourselves since we are "more intelligent" than our younger self. This is partly the reason why adult students tend to quit halfway while learning the piano because they might be too critical of themselves and think they can do better but yet unable to.