Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: Practicing Chopin's Op. 44 Polonaise  (Read 2876 times)

Offline motisy

• PS Silver Member
Practicing Chopin's Op. 44 Polonaise
on: September 08, 2019, 06:00:18 PM
Hi all,

I recently started practicing the Op. 44 Polonaise (in f#) and am running into a rhythmic issue in mm. 61 - 64.  That is, I'm not sure where the beats fall in the ascending f# melodic scale in the left hand, making it very difficult for me to practice.  When I get to the A in the left hand on beat 4 (if you subdivide into eighth notes) it feels like it's a beat or two ahead of the right hand.  Is the run intended to start on beat 2?  What's the best way to divide the beats up and to practice?

Offline aclaussen

• PS Silver Member
Re: Practicing Chopin's Op. 44 Polonaise
Reply #1 on: September 20, 2019, 01:34:06 AM
I know what you're trying to say but pro tip you want to stop considering the eighth notes as "beats". They are "off-beats" and when you're counting out-loud or in your head it's better to count it as 1-and-2-and-3-and instead of 1-2-3-4-5-6. It may not seem important but this piece is like a waltz because it's meant to be felt in 3. but I'm willing to bet the way you count in your head and out loud WILL affect the sound and make it more rhythmically pleasing. (You may already be aware of this but wanted to say it just in case). When I was starting out I did the same thing though, something I learned after a while.