Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: 7 blues piano licks for educational purposes  (Read 811 times)

Offline behdad

• PS Silver Member
7 blues piano licks for educational purposes
on: December 06, 2019, 10:55:06 PM
Hi! I'm a composer and pianist and I made these seven licks to show the most important aspects of blues piano. There are slow motions in this video as well to make it easier to follow. I'm working on PDF notations and hope can provide them soon.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8UwlC9o4Hc

Offline keypeg

• PS Silver Member
Re: 7 blues piano licks for educational purposes
Reply #1 on: December 07, 2019, 08:52:16 AM
If this is educational, then I think it would make more sense if the slow version were actually played slowly, and if you took the time to do so.  As it is, you have slowed it down using software, and this changes the pitch.  We see C being played, but hear E a sixth below (for example).  Sound and vision should match.

Offline j_tour

• PS Silver Member
Re: 7 blues piano licks for educational purposes
Reply #2 on: December 08, 2019, 02:03:27 AM
Well, I don't necessarily want to pile on the OP, I'm certainly not going to download some random video for some lolz.

What's the notes, why didn't the OP transcribe it into standard notation, and why should I look at it?

Yeah, I play blues piano, but I already have all the records I need, and I already copied everything I needed twenty or thirty years ago, so what is this?