Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Bad piano lesson  (Read 1362 times)

Offline chemblue

Bad piano lesson
on: March 01, 2020, 04:03:48 PM
Hi

Yesterday I had the worst piano lesson I have ever had since I started learning as a 56 year old adult student just over 3 years ago. I struggled to remember, play the right notes. My teacher is amazing and has the patience of a saint. I knew it was going to be difficult when my practice before the lesson was not going well.

I love playing the piano and have been doing well according to my teacher. I don't want to give up. Can anyone offer any advice.

Regards and blessings to you

Offline keypeg

• PS Silver Member
Re: Bad piano lesson
Reply #1 on: March 01, 2020, 10:59:55 PM
If you think it was a bad piano lesson because you did not play well, then you don't have the right perspective - and then maybe there can be some help.  Lessons are not bad and good depending on how well we play, because lessons are not performances that we give with the teacher as our audience.  Lessons are for learning, and if you learned, it was a good lesson.

Playing poorly in a lesson can indicate a problem or difficulty.  That is good news, because a decent teacher can help, and as soon as you are helped you have learned: if you have learned you have grown past where you were - and that is GOOD.

Offline brogers70

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 02, 2020, 01:59:30 AM