\"\"
Piano Forum logo

How to self teach good piano technique? (Read 664 times)

Offline yuvismahi2

• PS Silver Member
How to self teach good piano technique?
« on: July 10, 2020, 10:55:46 AM »
I've been trying to learn from online sources, I've managed to learn some scales and basic songs but yesterday I managed to hurt my left hand while playing scales, so it's time to learn good technique. Can you guys please help me out? to be honest, I can't even define a good technique, what is it? and how should I practice in order to archive such thing? Thanks and sorry for my mistakes, I'm still learning english!

Offline timothy42b

• PS Silver Member
Re: How to self teach good piano technique?
«Reply #1 on: July 10, 2020, 12:48:42 PM »
I've been trying to learn from online sources, I've managed to learn some scales and basic songs but yesterday I managed to hurt my left hand while playing scales, so it's time to learn good technique. Can you guys please help me out? to be honest, I can't even define a good technique, what is it? and how should I practice in order to archive such thing? Thanks and sorry for my mistakes, I'm still learning english!

It would be faster and more efficient with a teacher.  It may not be completely possible without a teacher.

But if you have no choice, here's what I would suggest. 

Watch video of good players.  Do this a lot.  Really a lot.

Video yourself playing and compare.  Do this a lot.  Really a lot.  A phone is good enough, you don't need to capture tone in detail. 

Share the videos with other players and ask if they will critique.  Make sure the videos contain your posture and motions, especially the hands. 

Some of technique is motions and some is choice of fingerings.  Ask for help. 
Tim

Offline keypeg

• PS Silver Member
«Reply #2 on: July 10, 2020, 02:27:06 PM »