Piano Forum

A Sudden Chat with Paul Lewis about Beethoven & Schubert
Substituting for the suddenly indisposed Janine Jensen, pianist Paul Lewis shares his ideas on his global Schubert project, classical repertoire focus and views on titans Beethoven vs. Schubert. Read more >>

Topic: too hard??  (Read 2535 times)

Offline Sekoul

• PS Silver Member
too hard??
on: January 30, 2005, 11:02:21 PM
well ive been learning the campanella for a few months now along with other pieces... so on and off... and ive got the first 2 min down pretty well... but it depends what you mean by well... my teacher says she is very surprised i can play this and that i should deffinitely finish the piece and perform it at recitals... but i just don't feel confident at all when im playing it.
i have days when i can get through the 2min at normal speed and make only 5-6 mistakes (the higher octave note mainly), but on some days i feel as if im only hitting 5-6 GOOD notes lol
Should i keep practicing this piece or just give up and say its too hard?

Offline xvimbi

• PS Silver Member
Re: too hard??
Reply #1 on: January 30, 2005, 11:27:53 PM
Well, if your teacher thinks it's going well, then keep on going! However, I think your tempo is too high.

Here is what works for me:

1. Work out fingering and the correct motions of the entire piece at tempo
2. Work predominantly on the most difficult passages to get them mastered at faster than tempo.
3. When playing the entire piece (at the end of a practice session), stay at a tempo where the entire piece can be handled, i.e. every note can be played accurately and precisely (i.e. perfectly), no matter how slow it is and using the above motions.
4. I want to automatically go faster, therefore I have to pace myself, so that I don't play inaccurately and start ingraining bad habits.

Maybe that will help you.

Keep on going!

Offline musicsdarkangel

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 31, 2005, 04:12:44 AM