Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: What is the fastest way to get sight reading up to speed?  (Read 994 times)

Offline ranjit

• PS Silver Member
A brief background: I'm self-taught and have been playing for around five years. I've taught myself a decent amount of technique and music theory, and should be able to play most pieces at a grade 8 standard or so. I also have some theory knowledge (I believe it is the equivalent of first semester music theory), so I can attempt a Roman numeral analysis of a piece, and know many of the basics of chord progressions, functional harmony, counterpoint, etc. I haven't learned too much repertoire, because I was mostly "messing around" on the piano all this while, playing stuff by ear and improvising. My current reading skill is basically nonexistent.

Now that I've got myself a digital piano, I want to get my sight reading up to speed, hopefully in 6 months to a year. What would be the best way to go about this? Is there some way to use your experience in other aspects of piano playing to improve sight reading?

Offline rachmaninoff_forever

• PS Silver Member
Re: What is the fastest way to get sight reading up to speed?
Reply #1 on: July 23, 2020, 04:21:35 AM
Idk how good you are but sightread all 555 Scarlatti sonatas by the end of the year.  If you do 4 a day you can take the weekends off and still finish lol
Live large, die large.  Leave a giant coffin.

Offline ranjit

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: July 23, 2020, 01:22:13 PM
That sounds like a good idea. I might not be able to sight read them fluently just yet, but should hopefully be there in a couple weeks...