Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Stringed instruments versus Pianos  (Read 852 times)

Offline flemijackson

• PS Silver Member
Stringed instruments versus Pianos
on: September 09, 2020, 12:25:35 PM
I am new to this, yet I have an inquiry for all you old style music buffs out there. Do you favor the sound of stringed instruments, for example, the Violin, Viola, Cello, and Bass over pianos and related instruments? I have consistently love stringed and for reasons unknown pianos consistently solid like nails on a writing slate to me.

What is your sentiment?

Offline brogers70

• PS Silver Member
Re: Stringed instruments versus Pianos
Reply #1 on: September 09, 2020, 12:35:01 PM
It's unlikely that you'll find lots of people on a piano forum who think that a piano sounds like nails on a blackboard. I love the string sound (and play the viola as well as the piano), sure; the piano can sound harsh and unpleasant if played badly. A badly played violin won't lower your blood pressure either, though. Still, if you don't like the tone quality of the piano, pick a different instrument.

Offline dogperson

Reply #2 on: September 09, 2020, 12:50:18 PM
I agree with Brogers 
I love well-played stringed instruments and also well-played pianos.
Sounds like you don’t need to pursue the piano in any form— playing or listening. Why you posted here on a piano forum is a mystery.

Offline j_tour

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: September 09, 2020, 02:20:47 PM