Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: ring finger out of control  (Read 904 times)

Offline kalospiano

ring finger out of control
on: October 15, 2020, 03:38:43 PM
I've been playing for a few years now and I've never noticed any particular issue with my ring finger, although of course it has always been more problematic than the first three fingers.

Now, I don't know if this is a problem that has actually come up a few months ago or if I have always had it and simply only noticed it a few months ago, but it seems more and more difficult to control my ring finger.

It very oftens presses the keys either too late or too early compared to what I intend to play and, even worse, it often kinda just "lays there" like a dead weight: it accidentally touches or presses keys involuntarily and I feel like I'm kind of "stumbling" on it when I'm playing with the other fingers, like if it were an obstacle on the keyboard.

I went to see a teacher who's quite expensive and very highly regarded in my town, and she said that, although I'm clearly quite tense when I play, my hand and body position seem correct. She had me working on some pieces emphasazing the hands movement in order to have better control over the dynamics, but unfortunately this didn't have much effect on the issues I'm experiencing with my ring finger.

I don't know know what else to do. Don't know if there are music teachers who are sort of specialized on fingers technique and, even if there were, I'd have no idea how to find them and distinguish them from other teachers. At the same time I feel like there's no actual health issue requiring the intervention of a doctor.