Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Looking for a great deal  (Read 1591 times)

Offline mikemeg

• PS Silver Member
Looking for a great deal
on: February 03, 2005, 01:55:38 PM
Hello everybody.

This is my first post and I am new to piano playing so please be gentle!!   :)

I've been looking through past posts regarding clavinovas and have decided that these would be best suited for what I'm looking for (in terms of space, price etc). I was originally going to get the CLP120 from a local retailer as it costs £1000.00 which is pretty much at the top of my budget. However, when I look at some of the online deals (in particular rockingrooster.co.uk), I can get the CLP130 for about £950.00!!. I have read that there is quite a significant difference between the 2 so would rather get the better model if possible.

My question is this - How reliable are these online retailers for buying something as expensive as a clavinova and what is their after sales care like ie. if I had a problem in the guarantee period, what sort of service would I get to fix it.

By the way, the clavinova is for myself (a complete novice), my wife (Has some experience but not played for a long time) and eventually my young daughter.

I would really appreciate any advice you could give me on this.

Thanks.

Offline Michele Felice

• PS Silver Member
Re: Looking for a great deal
Reply #1 on: February 04, 2005, 02:35:13 AM