Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: Pieces to improve technique  (Read 1811 times)

Offline pianoman2

• PS Silver Member
Pieces to improve technique
on: March 16, 2021, 01:38:34 AM
Hello, I am a 13-year-old student with ~3 years of experience playing piano. Of course, when I started I wanted to play all the ear-candy pieces like La Campanella and Fantaise-Impromptu. However, I now realize that I should probably get back to basics technique-wise, so I will become a stronger pianist, both musically and technically. I just finished Un Sospiro, which took ~2.5 months for me to finish. However, I make a few mistakes and it feels like I am spending too much time on it. I've heard several recommendations floating around (bach fugues, preludes, scarlatti, mozart?) But I would appreciate a few pieces (around 2-3) that I can pick for my skill level and goal. Thanks!

Also - side question - how many hours shouold I practice? I start with scales, arpeggios, hannon, sight-reading practice (the normal), but I always find myself zoning out while playing repertoire, almost letting my fingers do the work and just playing the whole piece. I believe this is a result of my over-practicing and losing focus (3-4 hours everyday).

Thanks!

Offline ed24dyt

• PS Silver Member
Re: Pieces to improve technique
Reply #1 on: March 16, 2021, 05:47:06 AM