Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: I started piano later than my peers. Can I still make it as a professional?  (Read 1346 times)

Offline svetlio320

• PS Silver Member
Hello everyone!
I'm a 15 year old student from Bulgaria and have been playing piano since 5th grade (4 years now) but at the time was very nonchalant. I would stop playing in the summer, I'd go days without playing and overall did very little work. My teacher was not very good and taught me bad habits (like my fingers being very straight while playing). She also never gave me any technical studies like etudes, inversions or even scales for that matter and taught me little to nothing about music theory. Also I played on a very bad piano at home.
Recently, though, I switched teachers and now am being taught by an ex music high school teacher for 40 years who has a lot of experience and is helping me catch up. She says I learn and proggress very quickly and we're already about to complete Nocturne Op55 no1 by Chopin and start Consolation no6. by Liszt. We're also catching up on Etudes and scales.

So my question is: Whether, in spite of all the negative conditions which I had growing up surrounding music,I could potentially go into 10th grade music high school and start pursuing a career off of playing the piano? All opinions are welcome. Thank you very much

Offline ranjit

• PS Silver Member