Piano Forum

Topic: Proficiency before moving to other works  (Read 508 times)

Offline james88

• PS Silver Member
Proficiency before moving to other works
on: April 22, 2021, 02:36:36 PM
Hi All

I have been playing piano on and off for 30 years, I also play a lot of guitar. I know a lot of theory, jazz and classical, but I have never taken lessons for piano. I can sight read anything of difficulty,- a strong knowledge of harmony helps- albeit slowly, although I can often play either hand at speed (I have good fingering choice I think). My question is for those that have teachers or are so (I am currently reading a lot of Czerny exercises)- is one expected to be able to play something perfectly before moving on to harder material? I enjoy playing the hardest things I can find and would rather turn thru books of Czerny exercises playing thru each each exercise twice only before moving on. And so, nothing is perfect, although I do get better at reading things unseen as I work through more pages. I have had teachers on guitar who thought it was very useful to not get struck going over and over something but to keep moving forward, eg, with scales, just keep moving around the circle and don't get too stuck on one scale, just keep working them all, as they will all improve eventually. And I have met some great players who had poor memories but could read anything brilliantly. This is what I am working towards.

So, what advice do professional teachers and conservatory type schools proscribe when it comes to playing through books of material, albeit exercise/etudes or preludes and fugues?