Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: What is the most efficient way to increase finger strength?  (Read 2137 times)

Offline claireliii

• PS Silver Member
Hi,
I am a semi-professional pianist, and I currently find myself struggling with speed of the chopin etudes due to lack of finger strength. (e.g. I am currently working on chopin etude op.10 no.12, and if I go too fast my fingers'd get too tired halfway and I'd mess up terribly)

My teacher told me to be patient since it requires years of practice to get there. However, I AM NOT CONVINCED BY HER THEORY. I think there must be a way to significantly improve my finger strength so that I can excel at this piece. Would you guys share with me if you have any ideas/suggestions?

Online brogers70

• PS Silver Member
It is possible that lack of strength is not the problem. You may be tensing up muscles that you don't need to use to play and that tension gives you a feeling of fatigue. Here are some things you can try.

1. Play very slowly just the left hand; whenever you put a finger down on a note, stop, leave the finger in contact with the key and wobble your hand as loosely as possible until it feels totally relaxed. Then do the next note the same way, making sure that you hand is completely relaxed after striking each note. This will be very, very slow. That's fine. Don't play the whole etude that way, just one of the LH runs. The point isn't t get through a certain number of measures this way, just to experience relaxation while playing some of the figures in the LH.