Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: How do concert pianists learn & memorize music so quickly?  (Read 2661 times)

Offline caevon

• PS Silver Member
I'm sure that, as pianists, we have all heard the legendary stories of people learning entire concertos in a week or on the taxi ride to the performance venue without a keyboard. That's extremely difficult for the rest of us, but there has to be some method the legends are using to memorize that quickly, right? I'm a pre-college student (in high school) right now so I'm not going to have any need for memorizing entire concertos in an hour or something, but I'd still love advice on this matter  ;D

I attend a normal public high school which doesn't really leave much room for me to practice, and I'm going into my junior year this fall so time will be even shorter. One of my struggles has always been learning new pieces quickly. It always seems to take months for me to get them down, and another few to memorize. I do put in the time (3-4 hours daily usually) but I suppose I am not practicing efficiently enough.

I'm currently tackling some larger works (Chopin Concerto No. 1, Ballade No. 4, some other stuff) and learning/memorization is almost definitely going to be a huge issue. What methods do y'all professional pianists use starting from the moment you begin learning a new work? How do you approach a new piece? How do you get it up to tempo, etc.?

Thank you all so much!

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Re: How do concert pianists learn & memorize music so quickly?
Reply #1 on: June 29, 2021, 06:47:56 AM