Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Palmside forearm pain  (Read 544 times)

Offline pogouldiwitz

• PS Silver Member
Palmside forearm pain
on: September 19, 2021, 03:04:20 PM
Hi,

I recently returned to learning the piano after a long break. A month or so ago, I started playing in the evening and didn't notice that I had been at the piano for close to three hours. The next day I felt some soreness in my forearms on the palm-side of my left arm. The pain is located midway between my wrist and elbow. I only feel it when I try to play. Occasionally it goes away and i'll try to play for 15 minutes or so.

I have noticed that if I'm sitting at my desk and my entire forearm or just the wrist is supported that I don't feel any pain when I simulate some sort of finger exercise on the surface of the desk.

1) Does anyone have advice on how to heal this injury?

2) Is it possible that I don't use enough finger action in my playing? This would seem counter to the modern approach to pedagogy, which stresses playing with the entire arm, using gravity, minimizing reliance on finger technique, etc.

Thanks.

Offline j_tour

• PS Silver Member
Re: Palmside forearm pain
Reply #1 on: September 19, 2021, 04:38:12 PM
Unfortunately, I think I know exactly what you're talking about.

It's, for me, a kind of intramusucular aching which is omnipresent, and in odd places where there aren't corresponding joints.