Piano Forum

Topic: Right hand technique not improving  (Read 690 times)

Offline marqueemoon

• PS Silver Member
Right hand technique not improving
on: March 11, 2022, 06:59:22 AM
Hello all,

I've been playing the piano for about 3 years, and my right (dominant) hand technique is progressing MUCH more slowly than my left hand. I have tension and weakness on the right side, and I've developed tendonitis in both the forearm and elbow. On the other hand (pun not intended), my left hand feels free and fast.

I believe I harbor lots of tension on my right side in general. My right shoulder feels tense almost all the time, even as I type this I can feel that there is lots of tension there. My left side feels quite loose comparatively, so I know that this is how a person SHOULD feel in their shoulder.

Has anyone else experienced a similar issue, or have any advice for how to remedy this? Right now, my ideas are yoga, which has worked well for me in the past, and physical therapy. What have you all found that works?

Thanks.

Offline lelle

• PS Gold Member
Re: Right hand technique not improving
Reply #1 on: March 11, 2022, 10:51:03 PM
I'm assymetrically tense in my body. Likely because of computer usage, holding a mouse for many hours a day.

I like Alexander Technique and Qi-Gong. Yoga can do wonders too. My experience is that you need to stick with whatever thing you pick for a while to see lasting improvement, assuming it works for you. I know people who have tried some various things like 1-5 times and then given up because there wasn't enough improvement. You need to commit a bit longer than that.

Offline mad_max2024

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 12, 2022, 03:50:58 PM
It may be that your right hand technique is faulty. I don't think you should be feeling tension with good technique and certainly not to the point of tendinitis.