Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Here are the 10 Taubman Approach Lectures on Youtube  (Read 846 times)

Offline lynxerious

• PS Silver Member
If anyone is interested in learning the Taubman approach, I had uploaded 10 lectures of it on Youtube. The videos format is a little bit outdated but the content is so useful. It helped me greatly avoid painful playing in my hands and arms when I started playing a year ago. Even if you don't completely agree with the whole approach, some of its advise on technique are still really valuable.

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Re: Here are the 10 Taubman Approach Lectures on Youtube
Reply #1 on: June 05, 2022, 04:22:02 PM
Good on your for uploading it.

I have several qualms with the approach but the main issue I have with it is that it does not explain the process of developing a student to improve which is the crux of the challenge with technical education. You cannot merely copy paste ideas of mastery into a student, they will not understand it naturally and thus cannot apply it in the future nor with their past pieces in a natural manner.