Piano Forum

Topic: My goals have changed.  (Read 531 times)

Offline pierusskiy

• PS Silver Member
My goals have changed.
on: October 14, 2022, 09:25:45 AM
     Hello!
     I'm a 70-80% self-taught piano player and I would love to share my story.

A year ago, I had a very strong dream of becoming a good piano player, attending a outstanding music conservatory. I keep evaluating myself. I thought I wouldn't be able to get to that point.

Since the beginning of 2022, I've spent much less time on the piano because I have to go back to university campus and what I'm learning has nothing to do with art or music.

In the meantime, I got to know a senior who majored in piano performance. I got to know the life of a piano student from what he told me. The life of a piano or music student has its ups and downs or something baffling. These made me realize that I wasn't suited to attending music education in a conservatory music institute. Or if I'm still stubborn about wanting attend it, I wouldn't be happy with the fact that I had to speed up my skill development to keep up with others.

I think I should play the piano with pleasure.  Everything takes time. It's better to practice gradually. That's enough.

Of course, I continued to practice. I wouldn't rush into practicing because I knew how painful it was.

Lastly, I'm happy to answer any other questions. If you have any advice, I'm happy to read it and apply it in my life.

Thank you for reading!

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Re: My goals have changed.
Reply #1 on: October 15, 2022, 01:32:18 AM
A year ago, I had a very strong dream of becoming a good piano player, attending a outstanding music conservatory. I keep evaluating myself. I thought I wouldn't be able to get to that point.
Who is to say only good piano players attend conservatories?

I think I should play the piano with pleasure.  Everything takes time. It's better to practice gradually. That's enough.