Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: What to play after Chopin's Waltz Op. 64 no. 2?  (Read 458 times)

Offline chopinowski

• PS Silver Member
What to play after Chopin's Waltz Op. 64 no. 2?
on: April 13, 2023, 04:45:19 PM
Hi there, it's my first time posting here, sorry in advance for any mistakes I might have made.

I've been studying piano for some time now, and I somehow managed to play Chopin's Waltz Op. 64 no. 2 decently within five days. I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions regarding what to play after.

For some background, some of my best achievements are Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata mvt. 3 and Chopin's Nocturne 9 no. 2. I took a year-long break after accomplishing both these pieces, and decided to hop back in the piano world after having taken a liking towards Chopin.

The pieces I'm currently trying to learn are Chopin's Ballade no. 1, Grande Valse Brilliante, and several other etudes, which I am barely able to continue as I feel that they are very difficult for my level.

What piece should I learn after the Waltz in order to maintain and improve my progress?

Offline franks66

• PS Silver Member
Re: What to play after Chopin's Waltz Op. 64 no. 2?
Reply #1 on: April 13, 2023, 05:26:04 PM
Hi
The coda of the Ballade is very challenging if you didn't practise that special right hand technique before.

I would consider a selection of some preludes of chopins op 28.