Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: What to look out for when buying a second piano  (Read 1643 times)

Offline alluneedislove

• PS Silver Member
What to look out for when buying a second piano
on: February 21, 2005, 08:33:05 AM
Hi ALL,

I'm just a beginner in playing the piano.  I have a desire to buy a piano for practising, but I don't have $$$ and I'm willing to spend a reasonable amount to buy a piano because I don't know how far I'll go. 

So, for me, the best choice is to buy a second hand piano.  And I like to ask the experts where are the best place to buy them and how to choose one.

Many Thanks. 

Offline Brian Lawson, RPT

• PS Silver Member
Re: What to look out for when buying a second piano
Reply #1 on: February 21, 2005, 04:17:11 PM
Options are - buy a reconditioned piano from a dealer, you pay more that buying privately but you get some form of warrenty.

Buy privately, look around at pianos for sell in the classifieds and narrow it down to two or three then spend some money on hiring a piano tech to look at the piano you have chosed to know if it is worth the price being asked.

Or, call some piano techs and see it they have any pianos they know of which are for sale or if they have pianos they themselves want to sell.
Brian Lawson, RPT
South Africa
https://www.lawsonic.co.za

Offline CJ Quinn

• PS Silver Member
Re: What to look out for when buying a second piano
Reply #2 on: February 21, 2005, 05:01:28 PM
Options are - buy a reconditioned piano from a dealer, you pay more that buying privately but you get some form of warrenty.