Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: opinions about my playing  (Read 307 times)

Offline the green piano man

• PS Silver Member
opinions about my playing
on: May 23, 2024, 09:16:42 AM
Hello, I got my recording from the national piano competition two months ago. I got the first prize but I am curious what are your opinions about my playing, because it really divided the audience. I dont have a lot of experience, I started playing the piano at the age of 12(im 17)  and I can hear my playing is not as stable as it should be at some places. Love to hear some critics!
Rachmaninoff prelude  op.32 no.10
i=AvfSxCysnwUqmVvb
Liszt tarantella:
i=c6Oy3o3mr2npDvNr

Offline lelle

• PS Gold Member
Re: opinions about my playing
Reply #1 on: May 28, 2024, 11:01:49 AM
Congratulations, well done with the competition!

A lot of great things about your playing! Very nice control over and variety of color, very musical playing, full of personality and life. What were the audience divided about? Because I can't really see it. This sounds like playing I could have heard from fellow students back when I did a bachelor and master in piano.

I don't really think I can point out any technical mishaps that you aren't already aware of. Considering how far you've come in 5 short years I think you can just keep going and things will continue to improve. Trust the process. You should be proud of how far you've come in such a short time.

Offline the green piano man

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: June 15, 2024, 10:05:53 AM
Thank u very much! Some teachers said i do 'too much things' in my pieces, its too artistic. They meant it in a negative form. Any opinions on that?