Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Deux Arabesque 1  (Read 10702 times)

Offline 00range

• PS Silver Member
Deux Arabesque 1
on: March 04, 2005, 08:30:42 AM
Hi! I've been studying the piano for nearly nine months now, and I've decided to take a crack at this piece.

Basically, I'm wondering what kind of time is being used. The music is telling me it is in common, but it doesn't seem to work in it.  For instance, in the first measure, there seems to be six beats, which I'm sure can't be right.

I appreciate any help given, and apologize ahead of time for my ignorance. :)

'Science is interesting, and if you don't agree, you can *** off.'

Offline kaff

• PS Silver Member
Re: Deux Arabesque 1
Reply #1 on: March 04, 2005, 05:43:55 PM
On your specific question, the piece is in common time as you suggest, but the notes are organised in triplets rather than pairs of quavers.  A triplet is a group of three notes which fits into the time normally occupied by two such notes in the given time signature. 

More generally, this is a very beautiful piece as I'm sure you already know from listening to recordings; but it would be unusual for someone who had only been learning for 9 months to be able to do it justice.  I'm not suggesting that you should absolutely not attempt it, just that you should be prepared to find it very very challenging.  It would be a shame to put yourself off it by attempting it too early.

Kathryn
Kaff

Offline 00range

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 04, 2005, 07:27:57 PM