Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Bartok  (Read 12993 times)

Offline fnork

• PS Silver Member
Bartok
on: March 10, 2005, 12:23:51 AM
I seem to have a period now when I'm exploring Bartoks music. I've only played a few of his pieces before - simple ones, like "Evening in transylvania" and "Bear dance". I just started learning the first Romanian dance, op 8a, which is a lot of fun to play. I borrowed a book with sheet music from the library, and found another piece, the left-hand study, which is a great piece of music too.

I still haven't heard too much of his music though, and I was wondering what Bartok pieces you would recommend? I'm mostly interrested in the solo-piano stuff, although I've heard some really good violin - piano pieces. All of the pieces I've played so far are quite "tuneful" and not very atonal, but from what I understand, a lot of his music is... well, harder to listen to. What do you think? I don't know very much about him really, but I'm looking forward to hear more of his music.

Also, what pianists do you recommend for his music?
Béla Bartók:
- Top pieces & piano scores to download
- Biography & quotes
- Related forum topics & articles

Offline Lance Morrison

• PS Silver Member
Re: Bartok
Reply #1 on: March 10, 2005, 12:34:52 AM
i'm not going to be too helpful, sorry, but thought i'd offer a few words