Piano Forum

Topic: Music vs. Painting  (Read 2471 times)

Offline tds

• PS Silver Member
Music vs. Painting
on: April 11, 2005, 12:18:54 PM
the duration of perceiving a work wholly, for one. anything else?
dignity, love and joy.

Offline Tash

• PS Silver Member
Re: Music vs. Painting
Reply #1 on: April 12, 2005, 08:21:04 AM
as an artist, i vote music as the better! well depends on whether you're talking about art created before the postmodern era or now. basically i think that art today is absolute rubbish, based on what we learn in painting at uni- it's just do what you like experiment with materials as much as possible and bugger all to technique. thus creating lazy artists who can't actually be bothered painting anything realistic and ruins the whole concept of an artist being someone who is gifted in the art of painting realistic images. it's stupid. i feel like it's not even worth doing because talent doesn't count any more in the art world. a bit harsh maybe? too bad. music (classical at least) is still generally based on talent, cos if you don't have the technique and musicality you're not going to get very far. it's just better!
'J'aime presque autant les images que la musique' Debussy

Offline tds

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: April 12, 2005, 05:43:25 PM