Piano Forum

Topic: Stamina in chopin 10.2  (Read 2622 times)

Offline SDL

• PS Silver Member
Stamina in chopin 10.2
on: April 21, 2005, 12:34:21 PM
Ok.  Ive seen all the threads on this etude.  Ive been doing this one for about 4-5 months, and Ive made progress but I think I should be making more.

• I can comfortably play 116 no problem all the way through.
    I can play 120 most of the way through
    I can play RH top line close to 144/152 but not all the way through (prob all but the a few lines in towards the end of the middle just before the first theme comes back)
    I can play RH with chords in sections around 132.

But my main problem is stamina.  I think I may be tense somewhere perhaps but if I try and speed up the whole thing I can't get all the way through at speed cos I get tired on the 3rd 4th fingers.  Ive tried cycling the middle section in bars and joining next notes and next bars and I get the difficult bit now with the 8ve chords.  Ive tried semi staccato RH and im trying leaning on the top rh notes slightly as if glissandi ripple effect.

PLEASE has Anyone got any suggestions to help with the stamina thing!!

many thanks

"Never argue with idiots - first they drag you down to their level, then they beat you with experience."

Offline pianomann1984

• PS Silver Member
Re: Stamina in chopin 10.2
Reply #1 on: April 21, 2005, 01:39:18 PM
play it really legato...anchoring yourself on 1st & 2nd fingers of your RH, holding whenever possible, all the time concentrating on staying free and relaxed.  Dont be so preoccupied with speed - that is what is making you tense.  Rember that you always have time to play as many notes as you need and still be relaxed.  I have anly recently discovered this myself, and it can be difficult to believe yourself when you say "look, I have all the time in the world!"  But trust me, this is the way to work!
"What would you do if you weren't afraid?"

Offline SDL

• PS Silver Member