Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: J.S. Bach's Prelude in C Minor from Well Tempered Clavier, Book 1  (Read 23852 times)

Offline nicko124

• PS Silver Member
Hello Everyone

I am asking for help and serious advice regarding this piece, i haven't started learning it yet. I am not sure whether to undertake it or not. I have only heard it from the recording link below:

https://www.carlhu.com/music/BachPrelude.mp3

I am a grade 7 pianist but i have learned works above grade 8 if Un Sospiro is above grade 8.
I therefore know that learning this piece would be achievable, however i have a concert in about a month and a half. I would like to add this piece in but i am not sure how difficult this piece is.
I am also finishing other pieces for the concert and so if i learn it now i will be multi tasking with the other two pieces i am finishing.

Anyway i would be greatful if someone could tell me the difficulty of the piece, if anyone has studied it than could you tell me advice regarding learning it.
Finally i would apreciate advice on whether i should learn it considering the fact that i have other things to finish before the concert.
I wouldn't want to start this piece and realise it's dragging me down to much and have to stop it.

Offline bernhard

• PS Silver Member
This beautiful prelude is amongst the easiest in the WTC (which is not to say that it is easy). You should be able to tackle it since I estimate it being around grade 6/7. The fugue is another matter altogether. Are you intending to play just the prelude? If you want to play the prelude and the fugue you will probably not have enough time.