Piano Street Magazine

Impressive Expressions! – Blechacz plays Piano Music by Debussy and Szymanowski

May 25th, 2012 in Piano News by | 4 comments

Hailed by critics is this new release from young Polish pianist Rafal Blechacz born in 1985. At the age of 20 he won all five sections of the Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw. He so impressed the judges that they awarded no second prize. Blechacz has previously recorded three albums for Deutsche Grammophon; Chopin Preludes, Chopin Concertos and Sonatas by Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven.

NEW! Click the album cover to listen to the complete album:

(This is a new feature available for Gold members of pianostreet.com)

This time he gives us a recital of early 20th-century French and Polish music, pairing impressionistic pieces by Debussy with more expressionistic works by Blechacz’s compatriot Karol Szymanowski.
Blechacz is not really interested in the ongoing musicological discussion as to whether Debussy’s works are Impressionistic or not. He rather seeks a Debussy who is an Impressionist who has borrowed his structural virtues from Classicism and developed them a stage further. Totally aware of what Mozart, Beethoven and Chopin had achieved he was able to translate all of this into a language of musical modernism. That is why Rafal Blechacz describes Debussy as “the king of colours”.
Szymanowski is a composer Blechacz feels a tremendous affinity for and on the album he plays the C-sharp minor Prelude & Fugue of 1905 and the first Sonata of 1904. The intensity of expression was to mark Szymanowski’s later music, while at the same time nodding to the legacy of Chopin, the German Romantic tradition as well as Alexander Scriabin.

Debussy: Sarabande from Pour le piano

“This is an unforgettable disc from one of the pianistic giants of our time.”

— The Sunday Times

The album on DG: Rafal Blechacz plays Debussy and Szymanowski
Review from The Guardian


  • Great discovery of an amazingly gifted pianist. He is gifted with a tremendous quality and richness of tone and colors that do not affect the clarity in any way. Very articulated! I’ll download his albums straight away! Thanks Patrick!

    The Netherlands

  • entertainment news says:

    He is equally fine in the Szymanowski pieces, but I wish he had recorded the late Metopés or Masques instead, or a selection of the extraordinary Mazurkas. Szymanowski took a while to find his distinctive voice, and these derivative early works are not very compelling. Worth getting for the Debussy

    He is brash, smiling, and talented. Even when he’s wrong, he’s not boring. He obviously enjoys playing the piano, and being a phenom. I like him a lot. You will too.

  • Christine says:

    the music sheet for this song open for download is not a correct one~

  • nilsjohan says:

    The file contains the complete suite “Pour le Piano”. The Sarabande is the second piece in the suite and starts on page 12 of the file.

  • Write a reply or comment

    Your email address will not be published.