Piano Street Magazine

TAKE YOUR SEAT! Hear Mitsuko Uchida Play Mozart Live with the Berliner Philharmoniker

February 14th, 2014 in Piano Street Site News by | 16 comments

Thanks to a collaboration with the Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall, all Piano Street members can enjoy free access for 48 hours to the Digital Concert Hall. Log in to your Piano Street account to get your free voucher code which gives you instant access to the Digital Concert Hall. (No PS account? Sign up for free here!) Take the opportunity to hear a live concert with pianist Mitsuko Uchida and to access all concerts in the archive!

LIVE from Berlin on Saturday

15 Feb 2014, 8 p.m. (Berlin time)
Mitsuko Uchida, Berliner Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Piano Concerto in B flat major K. 456 (Piano score from IMSLP)

Up-coming live piano concertos at the DCH

Saturday, 15 Mar 2014 8 p.m. (Berlin time)
Emanuel Ax, piano
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Piano Concerto in E flat major K. 271 ¨Jeunehomme¨

Friday, 25 Apr 2014 10:30 p.m. (Berlin time)
Ohad Ben-Ari, piano
Hans Werner Henze:
“Requiem”: Nine Sacred Concertos for piano solo, trumpet concertante and large chamber orchestra

Wednesday, 18 Jun 2014 8 p.m. (Berlin time)
Daniel Barenboim, piano
Johannes Brahms:
Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor

A vast number of piano concertos with top performers are available in the DCH archive. Artists include: Pires, Vogt, Barenboim, Volodos, Uchida, Perahia, Schiff, Aimard, Grimaud, Matsuev, Bronfman, Andsnes, Ax, Pollini, Hamelin, Berezovsky, Pressler, Buchbinder and Katia and Marielle Labèque.
Browse the piano concertos archive

About the Digital Concert Hall

In 2008, the Berlin Philharmonic, in partnership with Deutsche Bank and Sony, started posting its live performances on the Internet via the Digital Concert Hall, or DCH. Seven high-definition cameras capture all the musical action within the Philharmonie. Highlighting the intriguing interpretations of principal conductor Sir Simon Rattle, the fantastic audio quality of the multimedia files is at once accurate and thrilling. The operators inside the video studio make the recordings available a few days after each performance.

More than 1.5 million people have taken advantage of the streamed offerings over the last five years. With access to a combination of almost 400 recordings that include concerts, educational programming and interviews with conductors, soloists and orchestra members, site visitors can enjoy the entire gamut of Berlin Philharmonic musical experiences.

The site also provides extensive program notes for each piece; conductors and soloists often speak about both the program in question and about their careers. Many world-renowned pianists count themselves among the interviewed, and keyboardists the world over can virtually pick their brains regarding a wide range of material. The website catalogs everything, and web surfers can use a powerful search tool to find artists, pieces and specific performances they want. After discovering each hidden gem, users can bookmark their favorites. There is even a section dedicated to documentaries and other short films.

The Mobile Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall has never been easily portable without a laptop; however, now that Apple has released the Digital Concert Hall free app, anyone with an iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch can get his or her Berlin Philharmonic music anywhere. It’s an exciting way for users all over the globe to stay in touch with the world’s premier performing ensemble and the many soloists, including pianists, who have graced its iconic stage.

For more information about this topic, use the search form below!


  • Derek says:

    Thank your very much for the free ticket! Looking forward to hear the concert tomorrow.

  • Cristina Moldoveanu says:

    Thank your very much for the free ticket!

  • Patricia Charlson says:

    Thanks from the hinterlands.

  • Paul Punshon says:

    Thank you for the free ticket. It’s awesome!

  • I`m just waiting my turn to get the free ticket says:

    A wonderful chance for us

  • Anna says:

    Thank you very much for this nice present. It is a pitty is not working with an android. We’ll wait for a more universal new app…

  • Zachary says:

    Awesome! I love you guys for a reason.

  • Peter says:

    Thanks a lot for this wonderful opportunity to hear the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and Mitsuko Uchida

  • Everaert says:

    Its a lovely way to listen to classical music !

  • Barbara says:

    Thank you so much, looking forward to wonderful music.

  • Rebecca says:

    Thank you for the free ticket. At this moment i am listening to Mitsuko performing Mozart’s piano concerto k. 456. Its a real treat. Thanks again.

  • Not says:

    Thank you, I’m new here (USA). Unfortunately I received notice last minute and missed the performance. Perhaps next time.

  • gloria (yoyi) says:

    Thank you so much for give me the opportunity to “be” seating in the concert. It was beautiful. Thanks again.

  • Dina Mancia says:

    Thanks a lot . It was really wonderful

  • Thanks for this opportunity!

  • Jayashree says:

    Superb performance by Mitsuko Uchida… she is my favourite… a big big thank you to Piano street.. :-)

  • Write a reply or comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *