Piano Forum

Poll

Poll Removed.

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: The fascination with Rachmaninoff?  (Read 17929 times)

Offline G.W.K

• PS Silver Member
The fascination with Rachmaninoff?
on: December 30, 2008, 02:20:18 AM
This has been bugging me for a while now. WHAT is the obsession with Rachmaninoff? I find his pieces are very boring, depressing and sound either like someone being molested on the piano or old horror film music...he is absolutely terrible!

Fair enough: I am relatively new to Rachmaninoff, I only first heard his pieces a few months ago...but even though I continue to try and see why everyone loves him, I am still confused about why everyone seems to swear by him.

Enlighten me: WHY does anyone like Rachmaninoff? And are ANY of his pieces NOT like the reasons listed in the first paragraph above?

G.W.K
When I'm right, no one remembers. When I'm wrong, no one forgets!

Offline aslanov

• PS Silver Member
Re: The fascination with Rachmaninoff?
Reply #1 on: December 30, 2008, 07:40:29 AM
wow. i've never heard rachmaninoff so badly talked about in all my life.
and im on the verge of emoti-slapping you, quite frankly, but you are new to rachmaninoff, and there's need to get angry.