Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: New piece that I have to learn by Sunday, what to do?  (Read 1463 times)

Offline magic_sonata

• PS Silver Member
Hello, and I am seeking for some advice. It happens to be urgent, as I have little time to prepare.

A little background information. Well, I am advanced pianist and I have been studying piano for about 10 years and I have had lessons for 8. I am currently studying as a student under a piano pedagogy in a pre-collegiate piano program at a university.
This summer (well, this Sunday, to be exact), I will be attending a summer institute. My instructor has given me an ensemble piece today to learn by this Sunday, then to be performed by next Friday.
So I'm scrambling to finish all 10 pages by the deadline. It's a piece I know I can take on, however, I am a perfectionist and I want to perform this to the best of my ability. Another note: it doesn't have to be memorized.

My main question: how can I learn this piece in a matter of a few days and perform it? Also, are there any practice tips and tricks to get it learned, up to tempo, and with the utmost amount of musicality and understanding of the piece?

Thank you.

magic_sonata
magic_sonata

Offline hozepshad

• PS Silver Member
Re: New piece that I have to learn by Sunday, what to do?
Reply #1 on: July 10, 2014, 02:46:05 AM

Check this out; the second half is targeted more towards advanced students, but if you have time I recommend watching the full video (it's 15 minutes)

I hope this helps
Working on:
- Beethoven: Sonata no 3, opus 2 no 3
- Chopin: Mazurka, opus 67 no 4
- Chopin: Etude, opus 10 no 2