Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Recommendation sought for teacher near college park, MD.  (Read 2006 times)

Offline iumonito

• PS Silver Member
Hi all,

I am an adult amateur student.  I have not had lessons for ten years, after earning a masters in piano from Indiana University.  I play regularly, but without pressure of discipline.  I am hoping to get back the latter without the former.

I would like to hear from you if you can recommend a good teacher for me.  I am looking for someone who will not focus on the fact that I have only about 5 - 8 hours per week to practice, and who will not think it is crazy that I would like to have one 2-hour lesson per month.

I intend to play from a limited list of repertoire, and have no intention of spending a lot of time learning new works (by way of example, my list includes Mozart concertos 13, 17 and 20, sonatas 576, 331 and 332, a few Beethoven sonatas, some Chopin, Brahms and Liszt, and a bit of Debussy and Grieg and not much more than that).  I plan to post the list in a few days in the repertoire section, just in case you think this is of any help in making the recommendation.

Thanks all,
H
Money does not make happiness, but it can buy you a piano.  :)

Offline jeremyjchilds

• PS Silver Member
Re: Recommendation sought for teacher near college park, MD.
Reply #1 on: July 21, 2005, 06:52:25 AM
Good luck finding a teacher who will teach one lesson a month ::)