Piano Forum

Topic: Hello Everyone - care to help an absolute beginner get started?  (Read 4268 times)

Offline knew bee

• PS Silver Member
Hi All,

I've decided I want to learn piano, and I'm looking for as much assistance I can get!

I'm 26 years old, and I already play guitar and drums to a reasonable level. I taught myself by ear and never really got too involved with theory or sheet music, but I'm looking to change all that and I've just bought "Piano for Adults - Book 1" by Bastien.

I don't yet have a piano (only a Yamaha PSR 295 keyboard...) but I'm thinking that's enought to get me started.

I know a teacher would be the best way to learn, but I don't really have the spare cash to spend on lessons so I'm hoping to find enough free stuff on the web to keep me busy...

In the meantime, I'm looking for any tips or assistance you guys would care to offer, specifically the following questions:

1) Does anyone know if the book I bought is any good? If not, what should I be looking for in a beginner's book? Any recommendations for the next one I buy?

2) How long before a piano becomes an absolute necessity? I know I can't use the keyboard forever but I'm hoping to get to a decent standard before shelling out on a proper piano. Obviously the sooner the better, but at what point would you say that it was crucial to my development? Is it acceptable to learn the fingering, chords, reading etc first and then go back and work on the performace subtleties once I have a piano?

3) Is there any way to gague myself against a standard syllabus? I've heard about Grade 1-8  etc but don't really know what each entails - is it possible to download the "coursework" and "exam" anywhere? I know I wouldn't actually get the grades if I "pass", but I'd like to see how I'm progressing and I figure this might be the best way?