Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: Are the Bach Two-Part Inventions really this difficult?  (Read 26168 times)

Offline aaron_ginn

• PS Silver Member
Or is it just me?

I've only been playing since last June, so maybe I am just not there yet.  Still, I've been working on Invention 4 in D minor for several months and I'm finally getting to the point where I can play it fairly well at speed with few mistakes.  Compare this to the other piece I've been splitting time with - Chopin's Nocturne in B Flat Minor (Op. 9 No. 1).  I've been working on the Nocturne since mid November and I can nearly play all of it pretty well (I'm still working out problems with the 20ths near the end of the piece).  This piece has come much easier to me than the Bach Invention.

Now I'm starting Invention 13 in A minor and it seems to be even more brutal.  I simply cannot get my hands to play independently (and yes, I'm playing HS almost exclusively).  I know it will come in time; I had the same problems with Invention 4 in the beginning.

Piano Street rates the Chopin Nocturne at Level 7 and the Inventions at level 5 and 6.  Is this accurate?  Do most people here agree with this?  Despite being about one third as long as the Chopin Nocturne, the Invention 4 has taken me about twice as long to play decently as the Nocturne.  Maybe Bach just comes more naturally to some people, although I'd expect to be one as I'm an engineer by trade!  Regardless, my appreciation for Bach's genius and virtuosity has ramped up several levels since I started trying to play his "simple" stuff.

Offline ada

• PS Silver Member
Re: Are the Bach Two-Part Inventions really this difficult?
Reply #1 on: January 02, 2007, 06:31:11 PM