Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Choosing a Chopin Etude  (Read 2395 times)

Offline pwatzz

• PS Silver Member
Choosing a Chopin Etude
on: November 26, 2007, 07:35:37 AM
Hi, I've been an avid reader on this forum but this is my first time posting.  I was wondering which Chopin etude would be most beneficial to learn for me.  I have learnt Etude Op 10 no 1,4,6 (studied it only a little bit),9,12, Op25 no 2, 12 and the first Moscheles Etude.  My teacher told me to just pick up anyone that I haven't learned and focus on whatever I feel weakest on. However, I feel that I have so many aspects of piano to work on and really love all of his etudes.

I've tried narrowed it down (still pretty broad XD) to op 25 1,6,10 or 11.  Which one do you guys think is the most suiting for me to work on.  My current repetoire (to give you an idea of my level of playing) is Bach WTC1 no.3 C#-, Beethoven op 79a (les adieux), Mendelssohn Variations Serieuses, Ravel's Jeux d'eau (which I feel is beyond my reach at the moment) and I haven't decided on a modern piece yet.  Thanks in advance!

Offline alpacinator1

• PS Silver Member
Re: Choosing a Chopin Etude
Reply #1 on: November 27, 2007, 10:12:24 PM
Eh, I'm no expert, but I do enjoy the Harp Study (25/1).
Working on:
Beethoven - Waldstein Sonata
Bach - C minor WTC I
Liszt - Liebestraume no. 3
Chopin - etude 25-12

Offline bob3.1415926

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: November 27, 2007, 11:53:50 PM