Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: wich beethoven sonata..  (Read 2277 times)

Offline arthur

wich beethoven sonata..
on: March 29, 2008, 03:14:28 PM
.. should I play?

I am currently studying Brahms Op.10 Nº3(almost finishing) and Mozart's k330, I've finished bach's prelude and fugue in g major from wtc1. oh and I play just a few difficult parts of chopin's op. 31 and the first (and half of the second) page of his first ballade

I was thinking, it could be the pathetique or moonlight, I want to play something difficult (not veery difficult) 
I also red the score of the 110, it's not very hard, right?

thanks!

PD: I'm 15 years old and I want to give my first recital soon, in november or next year's march

Offline arthur

Re: wich beethoven sonata..
Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 07:28:14 PM
I am hesitating now, this shouldn't be in repertoire?

Offline Kassaa

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 31, 2008, 07:51:11 PM
Don't do 110, it's very difficult, stay away from the later ones. You can try one of the op. 14's, maybe op. 10/2?

Offline pianowolfi

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: March 31, 2008, 07:54:16 PM
Yes, or op. 10/1. Or why not op. 54, this is very underplayed, it has only 2 mvts. and it's very beautiful. op. 79 would be an option too.

Offline arthur

Reply #4 on: March 31, 2008, 09:15:17 PM
I've already played op 54 number 1 and 2 and op 79 two years ago, sorry about not mentioning it :p